top of page

RUIS

I'M BACK & What's Been Going On With Me

Hi Folks! Long time no see. I know I nearly abandoned this blog for almost a year. I felt terrible but I didn't regret my decision. I was occupied by a lot of things and didn't have much time to manage the blog. I had a fashion internship, kept my 4.0 at school, and successfully transferred to my dream school.


Now I've accomplished my goals, I'm officially back on RUIS.


In my transfer application essay, I mentioned my passion for writing. I do like to document my days and jot down the fascinating moments and feelings I encounter in life. As long as I'd want to appear to be professional and advanced in my writing, I still have a long way to go. So I just want to keep it casual, just like when you're catching up with a friend about your life.


Blogging is something I've always wanted to do. I'm glad that I started my first step last summer. After all, where and when you start matters the most. If you want to do something, do it now. Because if not now, when?


Keeping a journal is my usual way of writing these days. I find it extremely therapeutic and calming. Sometimes my brain is so preoccupied with rapid changes in life that it turns into total chaos. In my journal, I go through these things one by one and offers solutions to each of them. SEE? Problem solved! To me, it's like counseling, but with a pen and a piece of paper, and without a counselor.


However, sometimes I tell myself that the journal is not always about hidden secrets, that sometimes I write about happy and touching moments on the journal too.


I used to be paranoid and frightened to self-disclose. The old me would say, "Why does it matter to you? I've got nothing to share. I'm just me, that's it." I listened many stories about others without telling them much about myself. But as I took more advanced Communication Studies classes, I came to realize that it's totally OK to share things about yourself, that it's OK to speak up and speak out. My dad was the one who educated me to be a good listener, saying that it's "a good quality for a guy to have." His philosophy is to talk less and watch more. I didn't disagree with him, so I took his critique. Nevertheless, later on I realized that if you choose not to talk, chances are you may not know how after a while. It's like when someone ignores his or her feelings and completely shuts them down and he or she just turns into an indifferent person.


I don't want to be like that. I should be the one to own my feelings instead of letting them owning me. Ignoring or escaping is never the way, and it'll never be. You expose yourself to those fear and insecurity, get hurt, get healed, and move on. That's how people become stronger.


That's how I figured myself out, so from now on, I want to share more pieces about my life to you guys, to my dear readers. Reciprocity is a key element in everyday communication. I've heard enough, now I want to talk too. I want to let you guys know my stories, regardless of the ones with laughters or the ones with tears.


Stay tuned.


  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
NICE LIL THINGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page