top of page

RUIS

Jerry in Savannah

I just got back from New York and was preparing for a Psychology test when my friend Liz called and asked me if I want to go to Savannah with them.

"Nah, I'll pass." But what would I do over the weekend while they're in Savannah? Immersing myself with endless readings in the library?

How long have I kept my weekends like that? Probably forever. Plus, I have been studying for the test for a week already.

"I mean YES. Count me in."

"Alright then. See you Saturday morning at 7. We'll get there by 12."

"Sounds good!"

 

After about 4-5 hours of driving, we arrived at this restaurant by the marsh to fix something for lunch. Everything is made out of freshly caught fish and oysters, so it was delicious. Yet I became the dumbest one, assuming the special rabbit and quail sausage plate would be the big, American size. The waiter gave me an appetizer-size plate with two tiny sausages.

Well, everyone else's was perfectly normal. Guess God was just messing with me.

So I found the waiter and had another side of beans. Altogether it was enough for someone on a diet.

(My Appetizer kinda Lunch.)

 

Savannah is somehow "exotic" compared to the modern, industrialized cities like L.A. or New York. No skyscrapers, no high-rise apartments, no subways. Just a town paved with pebbles and constructed out of colonial style buildings. After all these years, it still keeps its historic beauty from the outside.

But inside the buildings lays Savannah's highlights. The world-renowned Art School, SCAD, is in the heart of the town. Independent boutiques and antiques opened by SCAD graduates and local artists are taking over the blocks. Restaurants, bars, cafés, bakeries, honey store, spice stores... so many spaces full of the air of our daily life.

The whole town is slow-paced, and everywhere seems to be in walking distance. Maybe this is the glamour and the specialty of Savannah: take your time, walk around, try some different stores, have some great food and drinks. Sometimes we all need a break, a getaway in our life, and places like Savannah is perfect for that.

 

Next morning, we hopped in this antique called "The French Market" downtown. It's not only an antique. The first floor is more like a department store, because it has everything: postcards, body wash and shampoo, books, stuffed animals, macaroons, lavender bags, etc.

(selecting a body wash as a birthday present.)

The "basement" (where you have to step down through the shaky stairs to get there) is more of an antique. All the gadgets and furniture are well-maintained.

They do have collections of good qualities and designs. If you're a huge home decor person, you'll love it there. Or you can be like me, just go there to window shop, and take pictures along the way!

Finishing the one last moment here, we started driving back to Charlotte because tomorrow was a Monday and everyone had school. But we stopped at Columbia, South Carolina to take a rest.

 

10:30 PM, Charlotte.

I got out of a shower, lied on my bed, ready to get some sleep. It didn't regret saying "YES" at the beginning. I wish I could do this hop-on-and-leave kinda trip more often.

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
FOLLOW ME
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
FEATURED POSTS
NICE LIL THINGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page